About Hockey Night in Canada in Cree

Building on the historic 2019 debut of Rogers Hometown Hockey in Cree, APTN is bringing Plains Cree NHL coverage back to Canadian screens with Hockey Night in Canada in Cree, now on Saturday nights. 

Featuring all seven Canadian NHL teams in heart-pounding action, the six-game national broadcast series will see APTN – the first national Indigenous broadcaster in the world – leverage Sportsnet’s NHL production to deliver exclusive Cree-language commentary and analysis to hockey fans across the country. Play-by-play announcer Clarence Iron returns with the call alongside host Earl Wood and analysts John Chabot and Jason Chamakese. 

Broadcast details: 

  • Saturday, March 5, 2022: Vancouver vs. Toronto at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT 
  • Saturday, March 19, 2022: Ottawa vs. Montreal at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT 
  • Saturday, March 26, 2022: Edmonton vs. Calgary at 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT 
  • Saturday, April 9, 2022: Montreal vs. Toronto at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT 
  • Saturday, April 16, 2022: Winnipeg vs. Tampa Bay at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT 
  • Saturday, April 23, 2022: Toronto vs. Florida at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT 

APTN linear premiere date:  

March 5, 2022 (Plains Cree) 

Video

Photo Gallery

The Press

HNICIC B-Roll of Earl Wood

HNICIC B-Roll of John Chabot

HNICIC B-Roll of Jason Chamakese

HNICIC B-Roll of Clarence Iron

Request Video Password